Philosophical questions on Selling/Purchasing Plans

rule62va

What are you Selling/Buying when you are Selling/Purchasing Plans?  

21 members have voted

1. 1. What are you Selling/Buying when you are Selling/Purchasing Plans?

• 1. When I sell a plan, I inform the buyer before the transaction about how they are to be used and how many items they can construct the item and offer them the option to enter into the agreement or not.
    • 2. If you build more than one or attempt to sell the product you are "stealing food from the mouth of the designer"
    • 3. As a designer, I can dictate what you do with my plans even if we have not entered into an agreement prior to the sale.(all designers dictate the same limitations and are implied by copyright law)
    • 4. As a designer, when I sell a plan, I am selling the plan for you to use as you see fit.
    • 5. As a builder/purchaser, I believe there is an implied agreement to only build one with no commercial use.
    • 6. As a builder/purchaser, I may build another with option provided or for my wife/son/father/daughter but no others.
    • 7. As a builder/purchaser, I may be building the item as a custom build/sale for another but would not use the plans again.
    • 8. As builder/purchaser, I am purchasing the plans with the right to do with them as I want.

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

There's nothing implied at all, it's very simple, you have purchased the right to build one boat from a plan set purchase. The Design belongs to the designer and if they're a reasonable person, protected under copyright. Your "interpretations" of copyright law seem "skewed" to say the least. There is no guess work, no misunderstanding in regard to the basic question of what you get when purchasing a plan.

If you build more then one boat from the plan, without permission, you've violated the agreement and can be perused legally.