Design Software

esmikell

Proteus Engineering produces FastYacht/FastShip and FlagShip software.

It has a series of modules for hull form, stability, performance prediction, construction, etc. Mine is a customized version and not particularly new. This Is the web site, though I've never been there myself www.proteusengineering.com 

Funny you should ask.  I just started the search too. I stated with and still use Hulls some. But bear in mind I am still a novice at this!  But I quickly found Hulls to have limits I didn't like. VMRL views for example are nice but not good enough to really see what is going on.

Someone told me to try FreeShip, version 2.6 I think it is.  It's freeware but the developer has shifted to  DeftShip. It still has a free version but I am told it doesn't do as much as FreeShip did. FreeShip is still available you just have to find it. I found it at the Source Forge website and it is still free. Not a bootleg copy. It's just no longer being developed from what I gather.

It is 100 times more advanced than Hulls. It will import your Hulls models and then you can really tweak the designs. Of course you will  pull you hair out at first.  READ THE MANUAL!!  I have been using it for 3-4 weeks and just now getting to where I design a kayak with the deck and cockpit that looks right. But being free, your can't beat it.

These types of low cost or free software packages don't really do much. They create pretty pictures of boat shapes with the basic volumetric mathematics associated with them, but that's it.

They don't tell you if the boat shape is a good one, for the intent you may ask of it. Some of them do come with rudimentary resistance programs, which are somewhat lacking, but again you have to know what you want and what the numbers mean, which it doesn't tell you.