Routers and bits

PinoyPiper

Hi all!

A friend volunteered to lend me his router to help build a Spindrift dinghy. Quite honestly, i've never used one before. and I was wondering if any of you can give advice on how usefull it would be for the task at hand.

What type of bits should I use? and for doing what?

I know this might sound like a dumb question to most of you but... :oops: i'm really in the dark here guys. help!

cheers/roy

I'm not sure you'll need a router for building the Spindrift ... I have the plans down in the shop, and as I remember it, there isn't much opportunity for router use.

Of course, someone who has actually built his might be of more use in this discussion! :roll:

on the last couple boats I've built the only real uses I've had for a router were to round over pieces, such as rub rails, etc. And with a straight pattern bit, to cut the slot for the centerboard. But on the last, unless you are really up on using a router I'd do it another way.

So based on that, get a 3/8 and a 1/4 round over bit to start with. Then purchase any other bits you find you can use, as you need them.

I have a router and it's been pretty helpful in "easing" or rounding the corners of all the little pieces of plywood you use...things like the doublers on the transom, the center bulkhead, CB trunk, seat tanks, etc.

BUT....not by itself. Most of this is 1/4" plywood and the larger roundover bits don't have anything to ride on, so they will gouge the edges. For this to work, you need a router table (router is hung upside down and the bit protrudes up ) and the stock rides along the fence, touching the roundover bit as it goes by. If you don't have the router table, I wouldn't use it on the plywood, except maybe with a 1/8" roundover, but that is really fine.

It does work really well on the solid wood pieces...cleats, tiller, etc. But it's not essential. You could do the same thing with a plane and sandpaper.