Draw knife for greenland paddles

bagarre

The last paddle I made was in 2003 and all I had was my trusty block plane.

It took a month of sundays.

This time, I'm armed with a spoke shave but could use something a bit more aggressive to get things going.

I'd like to try roughing them out with a draw knife but, I've never used one before and have no idea what size or shape is best.

Any recommendations or tips in selecting or using a drawknife for shaping paddle blades? 

I'm thinking a straight 8" draw knife would be a good start. Is that too big? Would a curved blade be easier to manage?

thanks.

Can you recommend a good name to look for?

The prices are all over the map which tells me so is quality but I'd rather not spend more than i need to get a decent blade.

The shaving horse looks useful but I'd need to make a dozen paddles before it was worth making.

For now, a couple good over center clamps attached to the bench will do fine.

Shoot, man, sorry. I got mine from my grandpa. Just buy one with some decent steel in the blade. If they don't specify the metal, don't buy it.

Or, go buy an old on from a second hand shop, yard sale, swap meet, etc., and get to work on it.

And, yes, your clamps will work great. Check them every few to make sure they stay tight.

Peace,

Robert

• Like 1

I made a scrub plane and I find it 'safer' than the draw knife since it doesn't dig in unexpectedly.  I had an old Stanley Handyman laying around I had no use for.  Ground a radius on the blade, sharpened it and it will rough down a paddle quickly! And I can adjust the depth of cut when I want more of less aggressive cuts.  All you need is cheap used #3 or #4 hand plane.

• Like 1

I have an 8" draw knife.  I bought it at a used tool place for $25.  It is an antique and the steel is superb.  Try flea markets and such too.  I love telling dealers I am gonna clean it all up and use it, not leave it on a shelf.  They tell me it will lower its value.