Help choosing a sailboat design!

davidlewislloyd

Hey everyone, I have been toying around with the idea of building a small sailboat for a number of years now and I think that I am finally ready to begin the undertaking. I figure that the best place to begin is by choosing a design and obtaining the building plans for it, so I am looking to get some advice/suggestions from people more knowledgable than myself (all of you!) in choosing a design that best fits what I am looking for. I am very much a novice in all things boat related, so please excuse my lack of proper terminology and such. Below I will list the main criteria of what I am looking for:

-A sailboat with optional rowing capabilities.

-Capacity to fit 4+ people.

-No more than 15' long, but the smaller the better. (For storage reasons.)

-Total building cost around $2000, the lower the better. (I am a college student and can only dedicate a small portion of my paychecks to this project.)

-Can be built by somebody with a relatively basic knowledge of woodworking.

-Has a traditional sailboat look, ideally made of wood, but open to other alternatives.

-Not built from a kit.

That is basically what I am looking for, but I am also open to any other suggestions/advice that anyone could offer me as I have little knowledge with regards to the art of boatbuilding. I would appreciate any and all help that you can offer! Thank you in advance for your input.

-David Lewis Lloyd.

Might look at the B&B Yachts Core Sound 15 or Bay River Skiff 15 cat ketches. Easy to rig and sail and good performance.  The Amanda 12 easy to build but may be small for sailing 4 regularly. There are others too.  Lots of support and build details from B&B and other builders on the B&B section of this forum.  R

Welcome aboard David!