Thinking of building an Eco 18/Marissa

tymann09

Hey folks, I'm new to the forum and fairly new to boatbuildling. Just a little bit about me to start with. I'm fairly young at 22 years old but extremely motivated and quite expierienced for my age. I'm an emerging fine furniture builder and woodworker. I will be graduating school this December with an Associates of Arts degree from the Vermont Woodworking School at Burlington College. For those that are curious about my work, check out my website, www.TJGwoodworking.com. I've just started this past fall running my own part-time business as a woodworker. It is going quite successfully so far. I have built one boat in my life so far, a 16' Cedar strip canoe. I started the boat when I was 18 with very little expierience and finished it this past summer when I turned 22. After completing the boat, I realized I'd learned so much during the entire process. While completeing the boat, I kept recognizing new things that I wish I had done differently earlier in the build. In any case, It floats, looks pretty and does the job well. It weighs in at 55lbs. My grandfather built quite a few Adirondack Guideboats in his time. That is what inspired me to get into boatbuilding in the first place. I always tell myself, furniture-making will be my job, boatbuilding will be my passion.