Plywood Questions

J.E.D.

I'm new here, so hello all!

Respectfully, yes, I know there is some info from Kudzu in the faq's thread. I do still have some questions regarding plywood choices.

First, I am a carpenter/cabinet maker who is very fond of canoing and camping. I've never actually paddled a kayak except once on those silly plastic sit-on-top ones. However, I've become very intrigued with kayaks. Also I am thorougly impressed by the construction of "fuselage frame" SOF boats. Plywood is a fantastic modern material with many uses and benefits. Lashing makes perfect sense too.

Now to the point: I see that most builders here are using Baltic Birch to make the frames. I'm very familiar with this material but as far as I'm aware, it does not have any water resistant properties. (please correct me?)

Also, Fir plywood seems to be popular in plans and pictures Even if you can get good Fir plywood, it is not only weak but the grain is VERY loose. It catches on everything now matter how much you round it and sand it.

I can get half inch marine plywoods, made of various hardwoods but they run about $125 to $150 per sheet.

So, I'm curious to know why builders on this forum use to plywoods they have chosen.

Jered -I've got a boat building itch that must be scratched-

I think the answer is largely "Because that is all we can find" and some would tag on "at a reasonable price'.

At least this is the case for me. Marine plywood, REAL marine plywood has be shipped in and I am looking at $100 shipping for 5-6 sheets.  Or driving 300+ miles. While $150 is a lot for a sheet, if  you look at the total cost of the boat it's still a bargain. I just can't find it or I would probably use it.

The alleged Douglas Fir marine plywood I can get is A+ garbage. I refuse to sell it.