Fabric and Coating decision.

Bcone1381

The 2 part LPUs I have experience with are very hard.  This means they do not handle any movement.  I would think they would crack on a skin boat.  Not sure what you mean by compatible, but even if it adhered well there may be other issues.

Let me start by saying I have no first hand experience with the situation.

I have heard builders on Qajaq USA swear by it in terms of toughness and abrasion resistance.

Here is a link with information and some videos.

http://www.skinboats.org/skinboats/sewing_your_baidarka.html#!urethane-application-/c1xub

The only negative I have seen is that it is not cheap. 

Chris, the Skinboats you reference was also a reference I used educating myself about two part urethane. It is stainable, translucent, has UV protection, and must be flexible enough for our Skin Boats. Regarding the fabric, I like the stability of polyester, and the ability to shrink it with an iron. It raises some questions as why Skinbaots does not sell a polyester material, so in wondered about the compatibility of the two.

I have never tried it nor do I know anyone that has used it no polyester.  BUT I have yet to find anything that will not bond to polyester so I have no doubt it would adhere just fine. Nothing much will stay adhered to nylon, so if it works on nylon that is even more reason to believe it will on polyester.

I can only guess why Corey doesn't stock polyester but I suspect that it is because it's so hard to find a supplier. If you been following along you know how hard it has been for me to find a replacement for what I was selling. Secondly nylon has been used forever and that is what most people think of first. Polyester is sort of the new kid on the block and he probably doesn't have anyone asking for it.