Building the Mess About

DwightM

I'm a newbee, first boat, I'm a woodworker, gardener and mess about...

I bought Jeff book 'More Fuselage Frame Boats and picked out the Mess About, I don't know why.

I have the frames cut out and the strongback is in our sun room. Worked on the stringers today, cutting the Scarf joints.

I will try and attached some pic

I'm new at this so I hope all goes well.

First pic is half way through a cut.

It's an eleven inch cut.

Second pic is pulling the sled back after the cut, I can leave the saw running with no kick back.

Third is the sled off the saw.

I may junk these stringers and cut some from different wood. These are simple pine.

Dwight from Northern Kentucky

post-2980-0-63162900-1357939809_thumb.jpg

post-2980-0-05922000-1357940002_thumb.jpg

post-2980-0-92894000-1357940067_thumb.jpg

Glad you joined in. Love watching boats go together.  The Mess About is a good paddling boat.

One thing you will learn really quick about me. I harp on the subject of jigs for cutting the scarf joint and the reason is, I mangled a thumb with one very similar to  yours.  I learned the hard way that sleds are not a good idea. The link below is to a shot of my thumb taken in the ER. It's not a pretty site, but this is why I harp on scarf jigs. I don't want you to have to experience this.

WARNING: graphic image

http://www.kudzupatch.com/temp/mythumb1.jpg

http://www.kudzupatch.com/temp/mythumb2.jpg

The problem is that you cut off should fall off the sled and not say on it. You really should cut your sled off flush this blade. What will evetually happen is one of the cut-offs will vibrate over to the blade and it will pick it up and toss it at you with amazing speed. I was standing out of 'line of fire'. I reached across to turn off the saw and my hand just happened to be in line when it tossed the cut off at me. 

I going to create an FAQ entry about scarf jigs. Mean time here is a rather long article about my search for a safe scarf jig.