Virgin SOF builder, questions about Shad

gorn

Hi Guys and Girls

I have decided that Shad is the boat for me to build, I love the lines, and like the better tracking of longer kayaks.

Having said all this, I havent kayaked since I was a child, so Im long overdue.

SOF is art into transportation for me, I like looking at the frames more than the finished boat! ha!

Anyway, onto Shad.

Im 39, weigh 194lb, and am a huge 5'6" tall :)

1: Will I bee flippin and flopping around in the boat being a smaller person?

2: How well does Shad handle ocean going day travel in rougher waters?

Im not keen on rough water myself, but conditions can change fast.

Having said that, Im keen to learn rough water skills at a later date.

3:Being Im a newbie, will Shad be too unstable for me?

I have very good reflexes, and a good general balance for things.

Im thinking to hell with it, get building :)

4: Judjing from most comments, its only Polyester that takes paint right?

Whats the heavieast useable gaugh for SoF? and is it really MUCH harder to sew on than Nylon?

5: Im still leaning construction styles here, but what are the advantages of cocpit style construction vs kayaks made by many steamed ribs?

Is it weight related, cost related, or just a stronger design?

6: Is there a paint stencal to put the Kudzu Kayaks logo on the boat?

Im getting ready for my first order soon, which will be plans, sinnew, book 1, and skin.

I have a LOT of depressive and anxiety issues, and have long held the thaught that being in a kayak on the water may help me stay calm and relaxed like nothing else.

It also allows the explorer in me to be free.

Thanks for your time, look forward to some good answers :)

Aaron

Lastly, the green and black on thre Kudzu website.....oh how Ive been daydreaming my days away on that bad boy.

Beatiful colours.

I will add a few comments to your Q5 about fuselage vs steamed ribs.