Shad bow and stern

DGW

Hi SOF kayakers. I live in Thirroul NSW Australia. I am not new to kayaking (I have three sea kayaks) but I am very new to SOF kayaks and have commenced building a Shad. I paddle using Greenland paddles and figured I need a boat to match. My question is about the stern and bow pieces that have very sharp ends. They look fantastic but should I be rounding them off a bit so that they are less likely to cut the 8oz polyester skin I am going to use? It looks to me like I should. Cheers, DGW

Jeff and Andy, many thanks to you both. I will be using the fabric that Jeff sent me and am now confident that if I just take the edge off (but without rounding) then that will be sufficient.

Andy, do I see a hint of a rubbing strip on the bow of your Ravenswood? I know Jeff is of the opinion that protection at the bow and stern is not needed but I feel that I might feel more comfortable if I have something there until I am as familiar with a SOF as Jeff is. I read (I think) that Jeff once used strips off a cutting board and so I am thinking I will do the same. 

What a fantastic forum.

Stay safe,

Denis

This message is mostly for Jeff who has provided me, just a couple of weeks back, with the Shad plans, and the other things I need to attempt my first SOF kayak build.

Things are proceeding slowly but steadily and today I started fixing the four frames to the four brackets that I have set up on my clamshell strongback. I like to think well ahead and played around with the bow and stern pieces to understand how they relate to their frames and brackets.